Itch Got A Glitch

a-brand-new-day

Itch was supposed to be published by now.

Whether that meant clicking the magical button on Amazon KDP, or getting an offer of representation from an agent, I was supposed to have finished ‘Itch’ and be ready to launch it into the publishing world.

What can I say, life happens. Failures to focus, re-assignment of priorities, rethinks and new beginnings are a part of life. I’d mentioned in a previous post about what happens when a series of projects vie for attention in my creative imagination. Things get put down, put aside or reassessed for their relevance to who I am and what I’m saying now. It took me a couple weeks to accept that ‘Itch’ is one of those projects. I’m still excited about Coco, Tasha, Chama and the drama they’ll be getting into in the second instalment of the Coco Devine series, it’s just that I’m more excited about something else right at the moment. I don’t know whether that makes me fickle, or lacking in discipline or … wise, but Itch is on the back-burner for now, and I’m working on the project that leaves me breathless when I think about it.

Like most of my projects, I believe this new one has a finite incubation period. It’s like childbirth, for those of you who know. Specifically, it’s like labour: there’s a finite amount of time you’re given to get this baby out before somebody has to help you or you risk losing it altogether. I can’t let that happen to the new project, and being on the MA programme right now is like I’ve been placed in the right place for it to happen. The rest is up to me.

So right now I’m shutting the door on my other projects (Itch included) until this one is done.

I’ll be keeping you posted on the progress of the new WIP as I work on it. Meet me on the other side with your love and well-wishes when I’m done, OK?

Has anybody else ditched a work-in-progress recently?

 

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

