My Blog Is A Cannon

Today I opened my inbox to a rash of notifications from Twitter : 50 new followers so far for the day.

Now, my Twitter following has been growing pretty consistently of late (I average 5 – 10 new followers per day, usually) but I’ve never had this many followers in one (half)day before. So what was the reason for the sudden jump?

A short trip over to the email address attached to my blog revealed the deal: a fairly popular website called The Bookshed had linked to one of my blogposts about Kirkus Reviews (you can see that post here) and the many who visited that site to read the article, seemed to also have visited my blog and Twitter account as well. You can visit the Bookshed site here.

Hey presto! 50 new followers in half a day and growing.

A cannon is one of those huge antique weapons that blasts cannonballs into the cannonball-smith-de-ilegalstratosphere – you can’t help but notice when it’s fired off a round. Which is why I liken social media, and a blog, in particular, to a cannon. Even if we feel that our blog is like that tree falling in the forest (if no one follows a blog, does it even exist?) it’s often just a matter of time before someone hears the cannon. Yes, it might be a long, long time, but them’s the breaks!

I’m still enjoying engaging with my followers and the people I connect with on Twitter and via my blog and, while blogging hasn’t led to a book deal (so far!) or an enthusiastic agent or the NY Times Bestsellers List or the Amazon Bestsellers List (or heck, any bestsellers lists!) I keep firing off that cannon with all the gusto a girl can muster!

In need of the assurance today that your social media efforts aren’t in vain? Below are a few success stories about writers who got their big breaks via social media.

felling-snags-on-fire-line-around-the-coquille-ccc-camp-siskiyou-national-forestWait!

I think I hear a tree falling ……

1. Abigail Gibbs, Beth Reeks and Emily Baker’s stories are here;

2. Corrine Jackson’s story (and her agent was a Twitter tease!) is here;

3. Emily Carlisle used the internet to get lucky;

4. Hannah Karenna Jones did it! And she’s on WordPress, too!

5. Not a fiction writer? No matter, these bloggers did it with what they blogged about.

Photo credit: Danny Playami / Foter / CC BY-NC

Photo credit: OSU Special Collections & Archives : Commons / Foter

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Blog Is A Cannon

  1. hannahkarena says:

    Thanks for the shout out :]

  2. Pingback: Social Media Is A Jealous Mistress | gettingsomethenovel

Leave a Reply

