How to Deal With Rejection

SONY DSCAnother morning. Blurry-eyed and patiently awaiting the buzz I get from coffee delivered intravenously (don’t try that at home!) I powered up the PC and shuffled towards my email inbox.

There was much of the usual: notifications from Twitter, a daily report on my (flagging) Goodreads ad campaign and a healthy dose of spam.

There was also a rejection.

What is it about these nicely-written emails of disinterest from literary agents that has the capacity to crush mornings, evenings, entire weeks, even?

I considered my choices. I could either:

1. Throw a hissy fit in the style of Don Music from Sesame Street (I’ll never get it! Never! Never! Never!);

2. Fire off an email in reply, telling said literary agent that she made a terrible mistake and should snap me up before someone else catapults ‘Getting Some’ to the very top of the New York Times Bestsellers List (or send her any other electronic variation of the ‘you made a mistake‘ brand of kiss-ass grovelling I normally can’t stand);

3. Throw my computer against the wall, soak my USB in a specially prepared ‘Rejection’ martini, stoke the fireplace with my manuscript, turn my office into a nursery and have another baby (hey, at least I’d be able to blame my non-existent bestseller on Junior!);

4. Do nothing.

In the end, what happened in my ‘office’ was a mixture of numbers 1 & 4. Thankfully, the coffee I.V. started to kick in just then and, with it, my usual clearheadedness, so I clicked out of my inbox and back to my manuscript….

And then I kept writing.

Here’s what other pressers had to say on this matter:

Related articles

Photo credit: Caro Wallis / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Deal With Rejection

  1. Nicole Roder says:

    Great post on dealing with rejection! Thanks for linking to my blog post. 🙂 BTW, I want to know how you get that intravenous coffee.

Leave a Reply

