The Things I Love about London

dawn-meet-ben-ben-this-is-dawnThere are so many things I love about the UK and now, a matter of weeks before I’m back there, I’m sooooooo excited about returning to the home of Big Ben.

London featured fairly prominently in ‘Getting Some’ and, when I first started writing ‘Itch’, I’d wanted to take Coco to Atlanta, while Tasha and Chama’s travels would be more ….. internal. Well, scrap that, they’re all staying! I’m toying with the idea of having at least one of them move out of London, though, and into the English countryside.

Can’t say who’ll be moving just yet, but here’s my mini-list of the things I love about London:

1. That no matter what you’re into, or how crazy it is, there are at least 1000 other people who know exactly how you feel, and are into it too! And there’s also someone willing to pay you to do it.

2. Bad-ass fashion for everybody’s budget, whether your taste is sated in Saville Row, Selfridges, Harrods, Primark or Camden Market.

3. The off-licence down the street where I can buy a cast-iron saucepan, a bar of chocolate, some hangers and a suitcase at 3:00 a.m. (Don’t ask!)

night-bus4. Double-decker buses with huge picture windows upstairs, heat in the winter, AC in the summer and passengers who thank the driver for getting them there safely.

5. Waterstone’s. Full-stop.

If I had to say why I love London in two words, one would be convenience, the other would be possibility. Can’t wait!

 

Photo credit: Cheddarcheez / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

Photo credit: conorwithonen / Foter / CC BY

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

