Whose review?

268-365-default-state-5_l

‘Getting Some’ has received another five-star review on Amazon.com! You can read the latest review here.

Forgive me, people, there will probably come a time when I’m not so excited by each and every review that I regale you with the finer details of what the reviewer had to say. It’s just that ….. that time hasn’t come yet! I can still count the reviews for Getting Some on my fingers and I’m still beyond excited to read each one.

I found out about this review via a status update from the reader/reviewer on her Twitter page. I was chuffed that she enjoyed ‘Getting Some’, and it made me think again about the fact that sometimes, even if the ‘official’ reviewers don’t like a book, it doesn’t mean that it doesn’t resonate with readers. I talked about this here after I’d received some fine (but not outstanding) reviews for ‘Getting Some’ from established reviewers.

So whose review should a writer care most about?

I think it depends on who (and what) you’re writing for. Conventional writing wisdom says write the book you want to read, don’t worry about sales, and make the reader meet you on your own terms. In other words, don’t write what you think will be popular with readers or reviewers and don’t worry too much about the accessibility of what you’re writing to your reader. Hmmmmmn.

But aren’t we writing with the intention of being read?

For my part, if I wrote something that was true to what I wanted to say (and to read) at the time, then I care most about the review from the readers whose objective in reading the book was to receive what I intended while writing it. I’m not particularly worried by readers who didn’t find the book deep enough, or sufficiently ‘literary’or whatever.

I didn’t think that the nuts and bolts of the writing in the ‘Fifty Shades’ series was particularly strong, for example, but you bet that there were millions of readers for whom those books had magnetic appeal! I’m not sure that Fifty Shades will ever be regarded as the Lady Chatterley’s Lover of the present day or received by ‘official’ reviewers on this basis, but I doubt E.L James is complaining!

Photo credit: Helga Weber / Foter / CC BY-ND

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

