How to write a sex scene

Image

Warning: Mature content ahead!

If you didn’t know, I wrote most of ‘Getting Some’ on the 425 bus to and from Thamesmead, London.

For any fellow travelers who wondered why I tended to cower over my lap in the foremost seat on the driver’s side of the upper floor of that double-decker, scribbling in a red Post-Office notebook, laughing, talking to myself and frowning whenever a new passenger broached the seat beside me, it wasn’t because I’m loony (although I am) – it was often because of the intensity with which I approached writing my sex scenes. Never mind whether you’d read erotica on the tube, would you write it?

There aren’t that many episodes of coitus in ‘Getting Some’ (well, not really) but the Prologue contains a humdinger of a tryst. Starting a book with a sex scene takes more than a little bit of courage, as does writing one that you want your readers to believe. I erased many a salacious sentence just because it somehow wasn’t .. right.

I’m now in the middle of writing ‘Itch’ and I’m not only writing sex again, I’m now also writing about things I haven’t even tried. So much for ‘write what you know’! In an effort to ensure that the sex is good for both of us (reader and writer) I thought I’d search for some pointers on writing good sex-scenes …. and share some of what I came up with.

Now, excuse me while I get back to the swingers on my computer screen …..

 

 

Photo credit: Mandee Carter / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to write a sex scene

  1. Pingback: Blood, Sex and Editing | A Writers Blog

  2. Pingback: Sex Scenes | Vicki Barnes

Leave a Reply

