Book Trailers – Take 2!

video-posting-permitted_l

So I just read about Jan Moran’s great news on her blog. She popped up in my inbox as a new Twitter follower and, as I usually do, I clicked through to learn more about her. What an inspiration. First of all: Congrats to Jan for snagging her publishing deal! No mean feat for any writer, I’m chuffed for her. I’m especially encouraged by the fact that she’d pursued the indie route first before landing her deal.

But guess what I saw on the very first page of her website when I clicked through? Yes, a book trailer. (Cue: long sigh) Now, a few weeks ago I shared my views on creating a book trailer here. But, you guessed it, I’m having a second think (make that a second ‘look’!) at this form of promotion.

Frankly, I wasn’t put off by Jan’s trailer for her book but ….. I wasn’t particularly encouraged to buy the book because of it, either.

Maybe all the trailer is supposed to do is let you know that the book exists, instead of leading to a sale? Maybe all it’s supposed to do is give it a presence on You Tube. Dunno, but I have to admit that I’m reconsidering this option for ‘Getting Some’.

Photo credit: cameronneylon / Foter / CC BY

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Trailers – Take 2!

  1. Pingback: The Little Book Trailer That Wasn’t | gettingsomethenovel

  2. Pingback: Making Promo Videos | Shah Wharton's Cover Design

Leave a Reply

