Reviews, reviews, reviews ….

pucker-up-3

Can’t live with ’em, can’t sell without ’em!

Two new reviews for ‘Getting Some’ were added to my Amazon page today and to be honest, I’m not too sure how to take them. Read them for yourself here.

One reviewer calls ‘Getting Some’ the British ‘Sex and the City’. The other seems to consider it a bit of a drama overload with spelling errors and words she had to look up. Ouch! We writers live in metaphor but having ‘Getting Some’ labelled as the Brit version of Candace Bushnell’s popular book is at once a compliment and a suggestion that GS is not as original as I would’ve liked to think!

And let’s just say that I’ll have to consult a (US) editor about the spelling errors. I’m hoping it’s not just things like my spelling ‘humour’ with a ‘u’ in accordance with British spelling conventions, when American spelling recognises ‘humor’ as correct. Thing is, it doesn’t really matter. If I’m selling to American readers, I should probably spell to suit.

At the end of the day, I may not be as euphoric about the latest reviews as I was about the (earlier) 5-star reviews for ‘Getting Some’. However, I’m not discouraged, I’m psyched!

And more determined than ever to make GS, and its sequel ‘Itch’, best-sellers worthy of the many 5-star reviews still to come.

Have a wonderful week!

Photo credit: ucumari / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reviews, reviews, reviews ….

  1. MishaBurnett says:

    Maybe I’m a more cosmopolitan reader than most, but I have no problems with a British or Canadian or Australian novel following the spelling and punctuation conventions of the country of origin. For me it helps set the scene, actually.

    Particularly with an e-book, I don’t expect an author to hire a US editor to translate the book into American English.

  2. Hi Misha! I actually don’t either, but I’m not sure whether the difference in conventions is the cause of the reviewer’s reference to errors or if I had a significant number of proper mis-spellings in there. I’m having it edited again just to be sure. Spelling errors are a pet peeve of mine so I’m rather mortified!

  3. Pingback: Whose review? | gettingsomethenovel

Leave a Reply

