Why bother with a book trailer?

black-clapperboard-with-black-and-white-stripes-and-labels_l

I’ve been thinking about the next step in promoting ‘Getting Some’ and came upon one of the popular new weapons in the indie publisher’s arsenal – the book trailer. Squiddo gives some useful information about book trailers here.

I’m trying to decide whether a book trailer is worth the time and effort it takes to make one. I mean, I can’t speak for anyone else, but I’d never (before this) actually watched a book trailer before, far less used one to help me decide whether or not to buy a book. Movie trailers? Yes. Book trailers? That’d be a no.

Frankly, I’m not impressed with many of the trailers I’ve seen. For the most part, I’d think a prospective reader would find them cringe-worthy, rather than an inducement to buy the book they’re promoting, but what do I know? Lots of indie authors appear to have jumped on the book-trailer-bandwagon.

What I want to know is … can anyone say that publishing a book trailer has led to an appreciable increase in sales or exposure? What are the pros and cons?

Photo credit: Horia Varlan / Foter.com / CC BY

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why bother with a book trailer?

  1. MishaBurnett says:

    I’ve never watched a book trailer, either, and I can’t imagine what one would put in one. So I figure, why make a promotion that wouldn’t appeal to me, since presumably people who read my work are people like me?

    • Hi Misha

      My thoughts exactly. I’ve received a fairly steep quotation for the trailer to be done as well and, at this point, it doesn’t seem like the prospective returns are worth the expense and effort. I’d love to hear from any other writers who’ve found the trailer worth the effort, though. Still open to changing my mind….

  2. I personally have never bought a book based on a book trailer. Most of the book trailers i have seen would have the opposite effect on me.
    I’d say that you would be better off spending your marketing resources on other efforts, maybe a special promotion on Bookburb of a some such site. though I have to say that i have never used them, but i have heard of other writers who have had success with tack.

  3. Pingback: Book Trailer: Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes by Jonathon Auxier | Wordsmithing Ain't Easy

  4. Pingback: Book Trailers – Take 2! | gettingsomethenovel

  5. Pingback: The Little Book Trailer That Wasn’t | gettingsomethenovel

Leave a Reply

