Traffic Jam

Image

The inevitable result of my not writing stories down when they first come to me, and completing at least a first draft when the urge to write them is still brand new, is that I create a traffic jam of sorts in my head. Stories back up, try new routes, get impatient, start to honk. Characters get out of lane and start sniffing around in the wrong story. Chaos ensues.

Right now I’m juggling the sequel to ‘Getting Some’ (working title ‘Itch’), a new short story collection, a dystopian romance (who knew?) and a literary novel that’s been patiently awaiting a green traffic light for at least five years. All these bits are in various stages of completion and polishing. There’s no shortage of writing projects for me to work on, which is why my utter inability to get anything down on the page at this very moment is so frustrating…..

This evening I came home sure I was going to knock off the next chapter of ‘Itch’, I had so much fun with it the last time I sat down to work on it. No such luck, though…

Exercises for writer’s block, anyone?

 

Photo credit: epSos.de / Foter.com / CC BY

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Traffic Jam

  1. Josh Abbott says:

    I too am currently working on a novel, though in truth, I haven’t added any content to it in several weeks. I’ve decided, psychologically that it’s impractical to even believe in writer’s block. I haven’t worked on my new novel, but the reasons are always much more tangible. I’ve had other projects going on, my motivation hasn’t been right, my ideas aren’t fleshed out, and I simply haven’t been in the right mental state to work on this project.

    My suggestion would be to write something else; most ideally a short story. Play with an unfamiliar genre or maybe just have a brainstorming session and jot down ideas. Writing short stories when I can’t write my novel has worked wonders for me. It always feels rewarding to increase ones body of work, and it keeps your mind alert and flowing with ideas.

    • Hi Josh

      Thanks for these suggestions. I’ve written flash fiction before as a type of ‘warm-up’ to the projects I’m supposed to be working on. I ended up very taken with flash fiction as a genre in itself, an idea for a new project formed and …. you get the idea! I agree that writer’s block can sometimes seem like an indulgent title for the (legitimate) reasons why we can’t get the words to flow on the page. I’m pleased to report I made a little progress on one of my projects this weekend….

  2. Pingback: Title Number 39, Almost Finished | S. A. Barton: Seriously Eclectic

  3. Pingback: Itch Got A Glitch | gettingsomethenovel

Leave a Reply

