Bittersweet

Image

First of all the sweet …. I’m enjoying being back in the Caribbean. Loving the small things, like the ability to escape to the beach on a whim and to raid the passion fruit vine in my parents’ backyard. Seeing old friends, old places, doing things that were once familiar and looking at them in a new light. And I got an invitation to be a contributing writer for an online mag. Yay!

Now the bitter …. I can never escape the feeling of being in a box when I’m here. A very small one, sometimes …. hemmed in by the old attitudes and insularity of some of the people around me. You’d have to be here when I try to explain what I’m studying and why to see what I mean. Not enjoying being back at the job I was at right before I left, either (long story…) And on top of that, someone I’d contacted about a review wrote me to say she loved the beginning of ‘Getting Some’ but grew tired of the chatty style, and found she couldn’t finish it. She’s not going to post her review because (even if she could manage to finish the book) she’s pretty sure her review would tank it. Ouch!

A day like this deserves a martini ….

peacenik1 / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

