Friday Freebie!

Is it really Friday again already? Wow! Anyway, Friday means it’s time to publish another extract from ‘Getting Some’.

Today’s extract is from Chapter 32 – Tasha’s just sold her engagement ring from Kerin after she ran the wrong way up the aisle – and kept running. He’s defaulted on his promise to help her repay the loans she took out to help him with his salon and she could really use some extra cash. Pity then, that the ring is only worth £60.00. ….

 

Image

I’m trying to remain calm and composed. The way you’re supposed to stay when counting money. But no matter how much I try to steady my breathing and quiet my nervous energy, my fingers keep buzzing through the same three measly 20-pound notes.

Sixty pounds for my engagement ring.

The man behind the counter looks at me like he sees this type of reaction all the time – and like it never fails to amuse him. Women, apparently, pawn their symbols of everlasting love with righteous indignation every day.

“Look, lady, I told you, you want it back, you bring the contract, you pay the balance and the interest, you get ring back. Easy.”

It isn’t so much his greasy black hair that riles me, it isn’t so much the heavy Middle Eastern accent that sounds like he’s wheedling and mocking me at the same time, it isn’t even so much the way that he had printed off the contract while talking to his co-worker in his irritating monotone, not even bothering to keep his voice down as he asked the man behind me to hold a minute, just one minute, as if implying that I, and the tiny chip of diamond in the ring, were worth just that much of his time and no more.

What it is, is the fact that I’ve been reduced to this seedy pawnshop on this particular high street, that I’ve walked for ages just to be sure that I would be as far away as possible from anyone I know possibly seeing me attempt to hock my personal jewellery for sixty pounds to a hairy Middle Eastern man in an Eminem tee-shirt and a thick gold chain that he probably lifted off of some other poor broke soul for a song. What it is is the knowledge that although this tiny ring is a relic of a love that is now truly past, it had meant more to me than sixty pounds could ever represent – and I’m going to let it go anyway.

So I put the three bills in my purse and pull my woolly hat a little lower over my locks. I suppose that it isn’t too late to cancel the whole deal and walk out of here with my head held high and the ring in my pocket – but what’s the use in keeping it when Kerin is now past-tense and the bills he left me with are still very present?

“I keep it in the safe six months, OK?” the man reminds, seeming to soften, “I keep safe, you want, you come back, people come back every day.”

But I know I won’t.

******

‘Getting Some’ is available on Amazon Kindle now at http://www.amazon.com/Getting-Some-ebook/dp/B00C6QUMHM

Photo credit: hushed_lavinia / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

