Dealing with disappointment

One of the harder things to handle is a less-than-lukewarm response to your writing. You know how writers are – we feel our work is a piece of our soul, the very core of our being, so to think that someone (or everyone) thinks it sucks is hard to swallow.

Enter my Amazon Kindle sales. I think I’m actually pretty happy to have sold more than zero – at this point I’m averaging 1.3 books per day – but despite my desperate pleas to my sister, my cousins, my friends…. not a single review. Not. One. Single. Review.

Everyone knows how important reviews are to sales, right? I’ve visited all the websites, reading groups and book blogs I could find and asked (nicely) for someone (anyone!) to take a read and write a review. One blog very politely advised they weren’t taking on any more books for review at the moment. Fair enough. The fifty others didn’t respond. And it worries me that not one of the double-figure buyers of my ebook were moved enough to write a review about it. Errrmmm …. does that mean nobody liked it? Or worse, couldn’t even finish it? 

And, if the book angst isn’t enough, my son is leaving for home in two days and I am already close to tears. Just not a great day today……

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

