Hooray!!

Today, 29 March, 2013, marks the day I finally decided to self-publish ‘Getting Some’. Something about that decision is really … liberating.

In the four years since I started writing the novel, I’ve had expressions of interest from three erstwhile agents (one of whom has given me some very useful feedback) and I’ve revised the original draft more times than I care to remember right now (in deference to said feedback). The thing is, despite some very encouraging letters from the agent ….. no representation contract. And, four years later, not much of an idea of where the back-and-forth we’ve been engaged is is headed. I mean, do you want to represent me and my books or not? (sigh…) (End of writerly angst.)

About six months ago, I did what all the (published) writers and agents and publishing-people say you’re supposed to do – I put my manuscript down for several months, and took it back up again the other day and had a read, with the fresh eye of someone who’s forgotten half of what she wrote …. and I loved it. Matter of fact, aside from the surprising similarities between a certain character and an ex-boyfriend of mine (who knew?!) I laughed-out-loud-loved it. And I’m hoping that at least one other person will love it too.

So watch this space, guys, ‘Getting Some’ is about to be unleashed on an unsuspecting world!

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

