Be Careful What You Wish For …

jennifer-moore-pie_lAnd what did I wish for?

Reviews. Tonnes of reviews. Reviews until my Amazon Kindle page could hardly hold them. Lol!

Be careful what you wish for! I got my first rather bad review today (3 stars) and apparently ‘Getting Some’ only merited three stars because the writing was ‘good’. Yup, my bad reviewer actually said the writing was good. Here’s an excerpt from Kokanut’s review on Amazon:

‘The writing was good but the story arc lacked, greatly! This has to be a set up for a sequel but I do not think I can stomach these characters for a second time around.’

So Kokanut’s summary? Good writing, characters she couldn’t stand, no sequel (please!) Sounds like a score to me! However, I’ll definitely be examining my characters’ motivations more carefully in ‘Itch’.

I blogged about how I thought writers should respond to bad reviews a few months ago, and that perspective hasn’t changed. I’m really thankful for this review, as I am for them all, and I’m celebrating the fact that the reader cared enough to read the story and record their thoughts on it. So thanks, Kokanut!

And I’m really pleased that I also got a new review on Goodreads - four stars, this time, from Delores, who thought that ‘Getting Some’ was a ‘joy to read’.

Two totally different perspectives on the same book. I hope you agree that yours truly deserves a passion-fruit margarita!I’m doubly fired up to finish ‘Itch’!

Photo credit: Think Sockeye / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

About gettingsomethenovel

Kiki Terrell is a UK-based author, businesswoman and mother of three. When’s she’s not slouched over her desk writing and laughing her head off, she’s busy playing Sudoku, eating Nutella and exploring her latest business venture (often all at the same time).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Be Careful What You Wish For …

  1. Aww, three stars isn’t bad. One star is bad. From the sounds of it, you’re doing great with your reviews!

    • I had a smiley in there. I’m sure I had a smiley. Guess my computer ate it, LOL. =)

      • Lol! I felt the smiley, even if the computer ate it.

        Three stars might not be that bad, but the substance of the review sounded like the reviewer might have intended one or two stars, instead! Sheesh! I’ve decided that the fact that the reviewer read through to the end and felt so strongly about it, even admitting that the writing was ‘good’, should be taken as a credit to ‘Getting Some’ but …..

Leave a Reply

